Prizes & juries

Hélène Vandenberghe, Tessa Giblin and Hans Ulrich Obrist
tegenboschvanvreden (NL) with Sander Breure & Witte van Hulzen, winner of the DISCOVERY Prize 2019
NOME (DE) with Goldin+Senneby, winner of the DISCOVERY Prize 2019


The DISCOVERY prize is awarded each year to the gallery with the best presentation in the DISCOVERY section. The DISCOVERY section includes about 38 galleries presenting recent productions (in this case, 2017-2020) by emerging international talents. It is an important part of the Art Brussels ‘discovery’ profile. Art Brussels wishes to support the younger scene, and launched this prize in 2013, which is awarded annually on the opening day to the gallery that has made the most original and engaging presentation at the fair.

The Discovery Prize is supported by Moleskine

Previous winners

NOME (DE) with Goldin+Senneby & tegenboschvanvreden (NL) with Sander Breure & Witte van Hulzen

SMAC Gallery (SA) with Georgina Gratrix

 Harlan Levey Projects (BE)

BWA Warszawa (PL)

La Veronica (IT) & Maskara (IN)

Jousse Entreprise (FR)

D+T Project (BE)

SOLO Prize jury members

2019 Winner: artist Lesley Vance (Xavier Hufkens, BE). On the picture: Chris Dercon, Iwona Blazwick, Anne Vierstraete, Xavier Hufkens, Tanguy Van Den Weghe, Nele Verhaeren, Vanessa Joan Müller, Raf Simons and Monika Szewczyk

SOLO Prize

The SOLO exhibitions present work by established and upcoming artists and are dispersed throughout the fair. Art Brussels wishes to encourage galleries to make distinctive statements by presenting one specific projects by individual artists. This allows visitors to discover the work of an artist in greater depth.

The SOLO proposals are pre-selected by the International Selection Committee. The best SOLO artist at the fair is rewarded with the SOLO Prize, including a cash award of €10.000, and is selected by a jury of professionals.

Previous winners

Lesley Vance (Xavier Hufkens, BE)

Nicolas Party (Xavier Hufkens, BE)

Benoît Maire (Meessen De Clercq, BE)

Noémie Goudal (Les filles du calvaire, FR) & Ester Fleckner (Avlskarl, DK)

Honoré d’O (Kristof De Clercq, BE) & Germaine Kruip
(Sofie Van De Velde, BE)

Catharine Ahearn (Office Baroque, BE) 

David Brognon/Stéphanie Rollin (Albert Baronian, BE)

Matt Connors (Cherry and Martin, USA)

Hannes Vanseveren (Hoet Bekaert, BE)

Fabrice Samyn (Meessen-de Clercq, BE)

Conrad Shawcross (Tucci Russo, IT)

Koen van den Broek (Figge Von Rosen, DE)

Scroll to Top